Disability Representation For Your Disability Claim


Call Us For Free Consultation Now


What Are Exertional Limitations in a Social Security Case? > Social Security Disability (SSD)  > What Are Exertional Limitations in a Social Security Case?

What Are Exertional Limitations in a Social Security Case?

Exertional limitations are limitations on the ability to sit, stand, walk, lift, push and pull. Any other limitations are called non-exertional impairments.

The amount of exertion or effort is key to determining whether you are entitled to disability benefits. Why? The Social Security Administration uses a Five Step Sequential Evaluation. At Steps Four and Five of the Five Step Sequential Evaluation, the Social Security Administration must determine the physical exertion level of the lightest job that you have ever had and determine what your current level of physical functioning is. Any work that requires very little effort or exertion is considered to be sedentary. While, on the other hand of the spectrum, jobs that require extreme lifting, bending, stooping are classified as heavy.

Many times the Social Security Administration will improperly determine the exertional level of the past jobs or your current level of physical exertion. That results in an automatic denial of your claim.

If you have gotten a denial of your Social Security Disability claim on the basis that you can return to your past work or that you are capable of doing other work in the national economy, you should immediately consult Pinellas Park Social Security Disability attorney Nancy Cavey, to learn more about your rights to Social Security Disability benefits.

No Comments

Leave a Comment